Washington, D.C. 20510

April 4, 2023

The Honorable Jeff Merkley Chairman U.S. Senate Committee on Appropriations Subcommittee on the Interior, Environment And Related Agencies Washington, D.C. 20510 The Honorable Lisa Murkowski Ranking Member U.S. Senate Committee on Appropriations Subcommittee on the Interior, Environment And Related Agencies Washington, D.C. 20510

Dear Chairman Merkley and Ranking Member Murkowski:

As Members of Congress representing counties with federal public lands within their boundaries, we write to request that you work to ensure the Payments in Lieu of Taxes (PILT) program is fully funded in fiscal year (FY) 2024.

PILT provides critical resources to nearly 1,900 counties across 49 states to offset lost property tax revenue due to the presence of tax-exempt federal lands within their jurisdictions. It supports the many critical services that counties provide on federal public lands. Without full funding for the PILT program, counties across the nation will be unable to provide essential services such as law enforcement, education, search and rescue, road maintenance and public health to their residents and millions of visitors to our public lands.

Moving forward, we look forward to working with you to enact a fiscally responsible, long-term solution to fully fund PILT and eliminate the uncertainty that counties face each year. Full-funding and a long-term solution for PILT is essential to provide certainty that the federal government will continue to uphold its long-standing commitment to public lands counties.

We look forward to working with you and other Congressional leaders to resolve this pressing issue facing our communities by fully funding PILT in FY 2024 and ensuring long-term predictable funding for this important program.

Sincerely,

Washington, D.C. 20510

Michael F. Bennet United States Senator

Mike Crapo

United States Senator

Alex Padilla

United States Senator

James E. Risch

United States Senator

Cynthia M. Lummis

United States Senator

Dianne Feinstein

United States Senator

Joe Manchin III

United States Senator

Ron Wyden

United States Senator

John Hickenlooper

United States Senator

Jo**n∕**Tester

Washington, D.C. 20510

Steve Daines

United States Senator

Dan Sullivan

United States Senator

Catherine Cortez Masto

United States Senator

Jacky Rosen

United States Senator

Maria Cantwell

United States Senator

Tammy Baldwin

United States Senator

Ben Ray Lujan

United States Senator

Amy Klobuchar

United States Senator

Debbie Stabenow

United States Senator

Tina Smith

Washington, D.C. 20510

Mitt Romney

United States Senator

Margaret Wood Hassan United States Senator

Tim Kaine

United States Senator

Kyrsten Sinema

United States Senator

Jeanne Shaheen

United States Senator

Mark R. Warner

United States Senator

Mark Kelly

United States Senator

Martin Heinrich

United States Senator

Peter Welch

United States Senator

Mike Rounds

Washington, D.C. 20510

Markwayne Mullin

United States Senator

Bernard Sanders

United States Senator

Kevin Cramer

United States Senator

Mazie K Hirono

United States Senator

John Barrasso, M.D.