Congress of the United States Washington, DC 20515

August 14, 2024

The Honorable Danny Werfel Commissioner, Internal Revenue Service 1111 Constitution Ave NW Washington, DC 20224

Dear Commissioner Werfel:

We write to once again urge the Internal Revenue Service ("IRS") not to treat the State of Colorado's Taxpayer's Bill of Rights ("TABOR") refunds as taxable income. While we appreciate you and your agency's continued communication with our offices, we request that this be resolved in a timely manner to avoid further confusion for taxpayers in our state.

We understand that the IRS is considering treating the flat \$800 and \$1,600 TABOR payments issued by the state for fiscal year 2022-2023 as federal taxable income. As you know, our offices strongly disagree with such an interpretation. Moreover, we are particularly concerned that if such guidance were to apply to the tax year in question, Colorado Department of Revenue officials may be unable to successfully and appropriately prepare for this change, and that taxpayers would thereby be left scrambling to determine whether they had unanticipated tax liabilities.

As you are well aware, the IRS has never considered TABOR refund payments as taxable income since the state constitutional amendment was ratified by Colorado voters in 1992—over thirty years ago. A change this significant would take considerable time and resources from the state to ensure regulatory stability and to appropriately inform the public of how these changes may affect them. It would also have a significant impact on taxpayers – especially low-income taxpayers – who may have new unanticipated tax obligations as a result of this policy interpretation. Moreover, the Colorado General Assembly has adjusted the refund mechanisms to comport with IRS guidance on taxability so that this question is fully resolved going forward.

With that in mind, we ask that the IRS treat the current flat TABOR refund payments for tax year 2024 as not taxable. We appreciate your prompt attention to this matter.

Sincerely,

Congress of the United States Washington, DC 20515

be Neguse Member of Congress

John Hickenlooper United States Senator

oug Lambour

Doug Lamborn Member of Congress

Greg Lopez Member of Congress

attoms ith

Brittany Pettersen Member of Congress

Michael F. Bennet United States Senator

ana Data

Diana DeGette Member of Congress

Ason Crow Member of Congress

Yadira Cara eo M.D. Member of Congress

Member of Congress